Rachael’s Ultra-Marathon challenge for cancer services

Thank you to Rachael who recently took on the Hardwolds 40, which is a 46 mile ultra-marathon starting in Beverley and finishing in Malton!

Rachael is took on the challenge to show her appreciation for staff at York Hospital, who gave excellent care to her friend Kate, who is currently receiving treatment for cancer.

Kate said “I was diagnosed with breast cancer in 2020 and again this year. I received such fantastic care from the breast care team to support me through the initial diagnosis and recovery.

I couldn’t have asked for better care and support from Ward 31, the team on the chemo unit, consultants and the breast care nursing team.

Rachael has taken up running in recent months, and asked me if she could start raising money by running for a charity of my choice. I had no hesitation in asking for donations to support services that have been of such a great help to me.

I’m wishing Rachael all the best for this weekend and will be there to cheer her over the finishing line.”

Rachel has raised almost £800 as a result of her challenge, a fantastic achievement!

You can donate to Rachael and read her story here https://www.justgiving.com/fundraising/Rachael-Swales4